Browse By

For Torture and Surveillance Commission via H.R. 104, Target The Congressional Progressive Caucus

H.R. 104, a bill to create an independent investigative commission on U.S. practices of torture and warrantless surveillance, has got some momentum, gaining 14 new cosponsors in recent days. But in order for H.R. 104 to be moved to the floor of the House for consideration, indication of support for it through cosponsorship needs to continue to grow.

Let’s start with the low-hanging fruit and work up from there. The following are members of the Congressional Progressive Caucus — people who certainly should be taking a stand for government transparency, against the use of torture and against warrantless surveillance — but who have not cosponsored H.R. 104:

Rep. Neil Abercrombie (D-HI, District 1). In-district phone: 808-541-2570.
Rep. Robert Brady (D-PA, District 1). In-district phone: 610-874-7094.
Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA, District 31). In-district phone: 213-483-1425.
Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL, District 3). In-district phone: 407-872-0656.
Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN, District 7). In-district phone: 317-283-6516.
Rep. William Lacy Clay (D-MO, District 1). In-district phone: 314-367-1970.
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO, District 5). In-district phone: 816-842-4545.
Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL, District 7). In-district phone: 773-533-7520.
Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT, District 3). In-district phone: 203-562-3718.
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D-PA, District 2). In-district phone: 215-848-9386.
Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH, District 11). In-district phone: 216-522-4900.
Rep. Alan Grayson (D-FL, District 8). In-district phone: 407-841-1757.
Rep. John Hall (D-NY, District 19). In-district phone: 845-225-3641.
Rep. Mazie Hirono (D-HI, District 2). In-district phone: 808-541-1986.
Rep. Michael Honda (D-CA, District 15). In-district phone: 408-558-8085.
Rep. Jesse Jackson (D-IL, District 2). In-district phone: 708-798-6000.
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX, District 30). In-district phone: 214-922-8885.
Rep. Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-MI, District 13). In-district phone: 734-246-0780.
Rep. Dennis Kucinich (D-OH, District 10). In-district phone: 216-228-8850.
Rep. John Lewis (D-GA, District 5). In-district phone: 404-659-0116.
Rep. David Loebsack (D-IA, District 2). In-district phone: 319-351-0789.
Rep. Ben Lujan (D-NM, District 3). In-district phone: 505-984-8950.
Rep. Edward Markey (D-MA, District 7). In-district phone: 508-875-2900.
Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA, District 7). In-district phone: 206-553-7170.
Rep. George Miller (D-CA, District 7). In-district phone: 925-602-1880.
Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI, District 4). In-district phone: 414-297-1140.
Rep. John Olver (D-MA, District 1). In-district phone: 413-442-0946.
Rep. Donald Payne (D-NJ, District 10). In-district phone: 973-645-3213.
Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME, District 1). In-district phone: 207-774-5019.
Rep. Charles Rangel (D-NY, District 15). In-district phone: 212-663-3900.
Rep. Laura Richardson (D-CA, District 37). In-district phone: 562-436-3828.
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA, District 34). In-district phone: 213-628-9230.
Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL, District 1). In-district phone: 773-224-6500.
Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY, District 16). In-district phone: 718-620-0084.
Rep. Pete Stark (D-CA, District 13). In-district phone: 510-494-1388.
Rep. John Tierney (D-MA, District 6). In-district phone: 781-595-7375.
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS, District 2). In-district phone: 800-355-9003.
Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY, District 12). In-district phone: 212-673-3997.
Rep. Diane Watson (D-CA, District 33). In-district phone: 323-965-1422.
Rep. Melvin Watt (D-NC, District 12). In-district phone: 336-275-9950.
Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA, District 30). In-district phone: 323-651-1040.
Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT, District 0). In-district phone: 888-605-7270.
Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA, District 6). In-district phone: 707-542-7182.

Considering that the platform of the Congressional Progressive Caucus declares members will work “to protect the personal privacy of all Americans from unbridled police powers and unchecked government intrusion.” and to bring law “into line with the U. S. Constitution,” it’s surprising to see so many members of the CPC fail to support John Conyers’ basic bill to bring information on the practices of torture and unfettered surveillance to the light of day.

Here’s what to do. First, by all means, read H.R. 104 for yourself. If you find yourself in agreement with its goals, and if you see your member of Congress on this list of progressive non-cosponsors, then pick up the phone and make your call to your Representative’s office. Introduce yourself and politely ask why your member of Congress hasn’t cosponsored H.R. 104 yet. Ask that she or he does — and ask for a letter of explanation if the answer is no or a vague non-answer. It’s your right to expect this communication, and it’s only right for representatives of progressive districts to do what they can to get to the bottom of the whole sordid tale on unfettered surveillance and American torture.

2 thoughts on “For Torture and Surveillance Commission via H.R. 104, Target The Congressional Progressive Caucus”

  1. qs says:

    43 cosponsors..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!