Browse By

The Few Straying Tea Party Members of Congress Fall Back in Line to Support the Patriot Act

There never were all that many “Tea Party” identified members of Congress who stood up and voted against that biggest of Big Government programs called the Patriot Act. Today, the number shrank further as the few dissenting Tea Party members of Congress, apparently whipped in private, publicly fell back in line to support the authoritarian Republican Party platform and vote in favor of reauthorization of the Patriot Act.

On February 8, only 8 members of the Tea Party Caucus voted against Patriot Act renewal. On February 10, only 1 member of the Tea Party Caucus voted to stop Patriot Act renewal: Tom McClintock of California.

On February 8, only 10 out of the 83 members of Congress endorsed by Tea Party Express voted against the reauthorization of the Patriot Act. On February 10, that number shrunk to just 2: McClintock and Rep. Raúl Labrador of Idaho.

Even though a large majority of Democrats is now opposing the Patriot Act, the Republicans have the majority and that majority is now obedient, including those slinking and subservient “Tea Party” members. Expect to see final House passage of the Patriot Act by tomorrow afternoon. Expect all those “Tea Party” candidates who just voted in favor of the Biggest of Big Government to be making campaign speeches with the word “Liberty” about a year from now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!