Browse By

2 Republicans Join 35 Democrats on H.R. 4192, Bill to Overturn Indefinite Detention

And they say bipartisanship is dead.

Two House Republicans (John Duncan of Tennessee and Timothy Johnson of Illinois) have joined 35 Democrats in supporting H.R. 4192, a bill that would reverse key portions of a new law that allows presidents to detain people in a gulag forever, without charges, without trial, even if they are arrested on American soil.

H.R. 4192 (also called the Due Process and Military Detention Amendments Act) requires that if a person is arrested in the United States, they must be granted a “trial and proceedings by a court established under Article III of the Constitution of the United States or by an appropriate State court. Such trial and proceedings shall have all the due process as provided for under the Constitution of the United States.”

Constitutional rights for people arrested in the United States. Time was, we could count on that. Now, such guarantees are considered anachronistic. As of today, fewer than one in ten of the members of the U.S. House of Representatives have bothered to cosponsor H.R. 4192. Here are their names:

Supporters of H.R. 4192
Rep. Adam Smith (Democrat-WA, District 9) — principal sponsor
Rep. Robert Andrews (Democrat-NJ, District 1)
Rep. Howard Berman (Democrat-CA, District 28)
Del. Madeleine Bordallo (Democrat-GU, District 0)
Rep. Lois Capps (Democrat-CA, District 23)
Rep. Michael Capuano (Democrat-MA, District 8 )
Rep. Russ Carnahan (Democrat-MO, District 3)
Rep. Joe Courtney (Democrat-CT, District 2)
Rep. Mark Critz (Democrat-PA, District 12)
Rep. Susan Davis (Democrat-CA, District 53)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (Democrat-TX, District 25)
Rep. John Duncan (Republican-TN, District 2)
Rep. Sam Farr (Democrat-CA, District 17)
Rep. Bob Filner (Democrat-CA, District 51)
Rep. Janice Hahn (Democrat-CA, District 36)
Rep. Alcee Hastings (Democrat-FL, District 23)
Rep. Brian Higgins (Democrat-NY, District 27)
Rep. Mazie Hirono (Democrat-HI, District 2)
Rep. Rush Holt (Democrat-NJ, District 12)
Rep. Jay Inslee (Democrat-WA, District 1)
Rep. Hank Johnson (Democrat-GA, District 4)
Rep. Timothy Johnson (Republican-IL, District 15)
Rep. Rick Larsen (Democrat-WA, District 2)
Rep. Betty McCollum (Democrat-MN, District 4)
Rep. James McDermott (Democrat-WA, District 7)
Rep. James McGovern (Democrat-MA, District 3)
Rep. Michael Michaud (Democrat-ME, District 2)
Rep. George Miller (Democrat-CA, District 7)
Rep. James Moran (Democrat-VA, District 8 )
Rep. Chellie Pingree (Democrat-ME, District 1)
Rep. David Price (Democrat-NC, District 4)
Rep. Silvestre Reyes (Democrat-TX, District 16)
Rep. Bobby Rush (Democrat-IL, District 1)
Rep. Jackie Speier (Democrat-CA, District 12)
Rep. Paul Tonko (Democrat-NY, District 21)
Rep. Henry Waxman (Democrat-CA, District 30)

If you don’t find your member of Congress on that list, find his or her phone number and make a call. Treating people according to the rights guaranteed by the Constitution isn’t a special privilege; it’s the floor beneath which no one in government should be able to sink. Help remind our leaders, who seem to have forgotten that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!