Enter your email address to subscribe to Irregular Times and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 733 other subscribers

Irregular Times Newsletters

Click here to subscribe to any or all of our six topical e-mail newsletters:
  1. Social Movement Actions,
  2. Credulity and Faith,
  3. Election News,
  4. This Week in Congress,
  5. Tech Dispatch and
  6. our latest Political Stickers and Such

Contact Us

We can be contacted via retorts@irregulartimes.com

Who Says Who Sucks in the Senate?

“You suck.” This is one of the most direct, blunt, and perhaps rude ways of letting someone know you are disgusted with their behavior. Politics can be direct, blunt and often rude. So when I looked through an archive I’ve been collecting of all Twitter messages sent to the accounts of U.S. senators, I expected to find thousands of “you suck” exclamations directed their way. I was surprised to find that only 66 “tweets” to senators with the phrase “you suck” have been posted to Twitter since the 113th Congress was sworn in at the beginning of 2013.

Those 66 “you suck” tweets go disproportionately to just a few handfuls of senators. The breakdown:

Harry Reid has received 20 ‘you suck’ messages.

Dianne Feinstein and Marco Rubio have each received 5 ‘you suck’ messages.

Heidi Heitkamp, Joe Manchin, Jon Tester, Mark Begich and Max Baucus have each received 4 ‘you suck’ messages.

John McCain and Rand Paul have each received 3 ‘you suck’ messages.

Carl Levin has received 2 ‘you suck’ messages.

Ted Cruz, Chuck Grassley, Frank Lautenberg, Kay Hagan, Lamar Alexander, Orrin Hatch, Ron Johnson and Sheldon Whitehouse have each received 1 ‘you suck’ message since the beginning of the 113th Congress.

My favorite of these Tweets was sent by Wanda Hobbs to Ted Cruz this morning. It succinctly reads, “@SenTedCruz You suck, sir.” I think the “sir” is a nice touch, kind of like a maraschino cherry.

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>