Browse By

Support The Stop Tax Haven Abuse Act

When you go to work, putting in long hours to earn a living, you expect to get paid, but you also know that you’re expected to take a portion of what you earn, and give it back to society in the form of taxes. That’s the money that keeps things going in our society.

Now, if you went in and told the people that you work for that you wanted your pay to be sent to someone else, with another name, like “Frederico Panza”, for example, who lives in the Bahamas, and who wouldn’t be paying taxes on his income because he’s a foreigner, no one would go along with it. You’d get some mighty strange looks. Someone might report you for fraud. You might lose your job for showing such poor ethical judgment.

For corporations, however, the rules are different. For corporations, this kind of behavior is routine.

Corporations love doing business in the United States of America. They love using the infrastructure and taking advantage of the stable and secure government we’ve got here. They appreciate having access to influence the American government through their lobbyists, who are all too happy to make direct payments to politicians. They love getting government subsidies to benefit their business interests, too.

Ask corporations to pay their fair share, like the rest of us do, and they say that they just can’t do that. They say that they shouldn’t have to pay taxes like the rest of us. They think they’re too good to contribute to the system that’s become so profitable for them. According to a new report by the Government Accountability Office, the amount that corporations take from the government in special tax rebates is actually higher than the amount that corporations pay in taxes. As a class, corporations aren’t paying a dime to keep the system going. They’re just taking, and asking us to pay the bill for them.

Corporate executives, the individuals who profit the most from this corrupt system, play the tax evasion game too. They set up fake companies and false identities in foreign countries to take their income and keep it for them, so that they don’t have to pay taxes on the huge amounts of money that they earn. They squeeze American workers for every penny of productivity that they can get, and then drain the money out of the American economy.

This week, U.S. Representative Lloyd Doggett is leading a group of Democrats in Congress to try to end this corrupt, abusive state of economic and political inequality. Doggett has introduced H.R. 1554, the Stop Tax Haven Abuse Act, legislation that would, if passed, close down tax loopholes that allow wealthy individuals and corporations to send their money to accounts in foreign countries in order to avoid paying their fair share here in the USA.

There are 53 cosponsors of the bill so far in the House of Representatives. Their names are:

Karen Bass (Democrat-CA, District 37), Xavier Becerra (Democrat-CA, District 34), Earl Blumenauer (Democrat-OR, District 3), Michael Capuano (Democrat-MA, District 7), Judy Chu (Democrat-CA, District 27), David Cicilline (Democrat-RI, District 1), Steve Cohen (Democrat-TN, District 9), John Conyers (Democrat-MI, District 13), Elijah Cummings (Democrat-MD, District 7), Peter DeFazio (Democrat-OR, District 4), Diana DeGette (Democrat-CO, District 1), Rosa DeLauro (Democrat-CT, District 3), Theodore Deutch (Democrat-FL, District 21), John Dingell (Democrat-MI, District 12), Donna Edwards (Democrat-MD, District 4), Keith Ellison (Democrat-MN, District 5), Sam Farr (Democrat-CA, District 20), John Garamendi (Democrat-CA, District 3), Gene Green (Democrat-TX, District 29), Raúl Grijalva (Democrat-AZ, District 3), Luis Gutierrez (Democrat-IL, District 4), Brian Higgins (Democrat-NY, District 26), Rush Holt (Democrat-NJ, District 12), Jared Huffman (Democrat-CA, District 2), Eddie Johnson (Democrat-TX, District 30), Henry Johnson (Democrat-GA, District 4), James Langevin (Democrat-RI, District 2), John Larson (Democrat-CT, District 1), Barbara Lee (Democrat-CA, District 13), John Lewis (Democrat-GA, District 5), Daniel Lipinski (Democrat-IL, District 3), David Loebsack (Democrat-IA, District 2), Stephen Lynch (Democrat-MA, District 8), Edward Markey (Democrat-MA, District 5), Betty McCollum (Democrat-MN, District 4), Jim McDermott (Democrat-WA, District 7), James McGovern (Democrat-MA, District 2), George Miller (Democrat-CA, District 11), Gwen Moore (Democrat-WI, District 4), James Moran (Democrat-VA, District 8), Bill Pascrell (Democrat-NJ, District 9), Donald Payne (Democrat-NJ, District 10), Gary Peters (Democrat-MI, District 14), Bobby Rush (Democrat-IL, District 1), Janice Schakowsky (Democrat-IL, District 9), Brad Sherman (Democrat-CA, District 30), Louise Slaughter (Democrat-NY, District 25), John Tierney (Democrat-MA, District 6), Paul Tonko (Democrat-NY, District 20), Niki Tsongas (Democrat-MA, District 3), Chris Van Hollen (Democrat-MD, District 8), Peter Welch (Democrat-VT, District 0), John Yarmuth (Democrat-KY, District 3)

One thought on “Support The Stop Tax Haven Abuse Act”

  1. Tom says:

    No Republicans. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!