Browse By

Half Of Safe Climate Caucus Fails To Support New Climate Legislation

Yesterday, U.S. Representative Earl Blumenauer proposed a moderate, reasonable bill to help small to medium-sized farms that are dealing with consequences of climate change. H.R. 1890, the Balancing Food, Farm and Environment Act, which would, in Blumenauer’s words, “assist farmers to better adapt to climate change impact and to continue to support their stewardship efforts by updating the conservation provisions in the farm bill.”

Improved agricultural practices can help mitigate climate change, and farmers are on the front line of the climate crisis. The bill sounds like a good idea. But who can Representative Blumenauer count on to support his legislation?

Hey – how about the Safe Climate Caucus? They’re always saying that Congress needs to take climate action. Just a couple days ago, the chair of the caucus said, “There is widespread agreement that we must act. Members of the House must take action.”

The good news is that some of the members of the Safe Climate Caucus have cosponsored the Balancing Food, Farm and Environment Act. The bad news is that most of the members of the Safe Climate Caucus haven’t.

Of the 25 members of the Safe Climate Caucus, only 8 have cosponsored H.R. 1890. 17 have not. Those 17 who have failed to step forward are listed below.

Slackers on the Safe Climate Caucus Who Haven’t Supported H.R. 1890 Yet:

Emanuel Cleaver
Steve Cohen
Donna Edwards
Tulsi Gabbard
John Garamendi
Raul Grijalva
Carolyn Maloney
Hank Johnson
Ben Ray Lujan
Ed Markey
Doris Matsui
Jerry McNerney
Bobby Rush
Paul Tonko
Chris Van Hollen
Peter Welch
Peter DeFazio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!