Browse By

The Republicans Who Voted To Help Hungry Americans

You may have heard that “the Republicans” voted yesterday to pass H.R. 3102, the Nutrition Reform and Work Opportunity Act, a piece of legislation that would take away food stamps from millions of Americans, if fully passed into law. For the most part, it’s true. 217 Republicans voted to approve H.R. 3102 yesterday.

However, the Republican Party is not monolithic. There is a small degree of diversity within the Grand Old Party.

The story I want to focus on this morning is that 15 Republican U.S. Representatives had the decency to stand against the leadership of their political party, to vote in opposition to H.R. 3102’s dramatic cuts in food stamps. Their names are:

Michael Fitzpatrick
Jeff Fortenberry
Christopher Gibson
Michael Grimm
Richard Hanna
Walter Jones
Peter King
Frank LoBiondo
Patrick Meehan
Gary Miller
Christopher Smith
David Valadao
Frank Wolf
Don Young

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!