Browse By

The Four Democrats Who Voted To Prevent Action On Climate Change

In Paris this week, political leaders from around the world are meeting to try to work out a deal to reduce the growth in greenhouse gas emissions. This year is set to be the hottest year ever recorded on Earth, and projections by scientists of dramatically increased temperatures have the support of a solid consensus among climatologists. The Paris agreement as it is currently being negotiated doesn’t appear to be sufficient to avoid catastrophic consequences of climate change, but it’s an important start.

Here in the United States, the majority of the population wants climate action. Nonetheless, yesterday, the U.S. House of Representatives voted to approve two resolutions, S J RES 23 and S J RES 24, that express disapproval of U.S. actions to control carbon dioxide pollution and control of other greenhouse gases.

These resolutions were passed with the support of all but a few Republican U.S. representatives. They weren’t acting alone, however. Four Democratic U.S. representatives joined the Republicans in their obstruction of action to confront the growing crisis of climate change. They were: Brad Ashford, Sanford Bishop, Henry Cuellar, and Collin Peterson.

The thing about these four Democrats is that this wasn’t the first time they joined in League with congressional Republicans to pass anti-progressive legislation.

Little over a week ago, these same four Democrats helped Republicans pass xenophobic legislation making it harder for victims of the Islamic State to find refuge.

In May this year, these four congressional Democrats voted to prohibit certain scientific research about climate change.

In February, they voted to approve the Keystone XL pipeline.

It isn’t just favors for the big polluters in the fossil fuel industry that these four Democrats help congressional Republicans achieve, though. They’re economically cruel as well.

In April, these nasty Blue Dogs voted to help Republicans approve predatory loans against mobile home buyers. That month, they also voted against tax cuts for working Americans, while giving huge tax breaks to trust fund babies in wealthy families.

Brad Ashford, Sanford Bishop, Henry Cuellar, and Collin Peterson are on the compassionless and cruel side of history. They stand for greed and pollution, for the profit of the few and powerful. The Democratic Party ought to be ashamed to have them in its ranks.

6 thoughts on “The Four Democrats Who Voted To Prevent Action On Climate Change”

  1. ella says:

    It must be nice to have your own private greenhouse, that is air conditioned. Has no one told them that food plants, for the most part, need temperatures less than 95 degrees in order to reproduce? Even the new plants, the franken plants, need cooler temperatures for a period of time. And that has to leave enough time for the produce to ripen.

  2. J Clifford says:

    I agree that it’s time for these politicians to leave behind their corrupt allegiance to fossil fuels corporations and start to serve the future of humanity on this planet.

  3. Tom says:

    Well, I don’t want to harsh yer buzz or anything, but it’s WAY too late now.
    We’re toast in so many ways (and they’re all converging into a near term event): environmental collapse and species die-offs are accelerating, economic collapse is right around the bend, WWIII is being foisted on everyone by the hegemonic U.S. and their bullying foreign policy (on Israel’s behalf, if you do enough research). We’ll be extinct before mid-century (probably by 2030) taking most, if not all, of the other species that occupy the planet with us into the abyss.

    Enjoy frittering away your remaining time.

    1. Leroy says:

      I agree that it “might” be too late for us and many species (although I also recognize that Earth has gone through some major disasters over the eons – including massive global warnings and massive Ice Ages and will survive this and likely start anew, just without us).

      I would tend to think that it will be more like sometime between 2100 – 2150… unless Trump gets elected in which case I’ll bump up to 2050!

    2. Leroy says:

      Since it IS too late, then frittering away should be fine, right?

  4. Leroy says:

    Brad Ashford – Nebraska Representative

    Sanford Bishop – Georgia Representative

    Henry Cuellar – Texas Representative

    Collin Peterson – Minnesota Representative (*)

    (*) Though runs as a Democrat, Peterson is a member of the “Minnesota Democratic – Farmer – Labor Party”

    So who were the Republican members who voted the correct way?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Psst... what kind of person doesn't support pacifism?

Fight the Republican beast!